Seniors loose McGlinchey Cup final to Ballymaguigan

Desertmartin: 1-07

Ballymaguigan: 1-12

Desertmartin and Ballymaguigan contested the final of the McGlinchey Cup in Ballinascreen on Wednesday evening 30th March. Despite the wide expanse of the Screen pitch both sides indulged in a short handpassing game working possession through their half backs and mid-field before seeking out a target in their inside lines. Ballymaguigan persisted with this more than Desertmartin.

The first half belonged largely to the Loughshore men who consistently pressurised the St Martin’s defence into conceding frees which Gary Burke readily converted. While Ballymaguigan hit seven points in the opening thirty minutes Desertmartin kept in touch by scoring three points to trail at the break 0 – 7 to 0 – 3.

Despite losing Fergal Higgins to a second yellow card on the stroke of half-time fourteen-man Desertmartin made a gallant comeback. Inspired by an Eamon Burns goal immediately after the break and good play from Paul McGovern and Eoghan Hegarty in particular the Saffrons cut the defecit to two points with ten minutes remaining. As St Martin’s were in the ascendency and controlling most of possession they were unfortunate to concede a goal following a goalmouth scramble allowing the Quigan to lead by five. Ballymaguigan with a strong lead going into the final minutes contained Desertmartin’s attempts to recover. With time running out both sides scored a point apiece before Ballymaguigan finished as five point winners.

Desertmartin team: C Scullion; S O’Neill, M Breen, C Murray; P McGovern(0 – 1), C Madden, P McCrystal; E Hegarty(0 – 1), J McGovern; E O’Kane, G McGovern(0 – 2), Declan Murray(0 – 2); O Kelly(0 – 1), D Burns, F Higgins. Subs used: C Burns, E Burns(1 – 0) and P McCann.