End of Year Presentation Dinner

The club held its annual dinner in the clubrooms last Saturday night.  Our special guests were County Chairman Brian Smith along with Karl McKaigue and Brendan Rodgers from the all conquering Slaughtneil club who are back to back County and Ulster champions in football,  hurling and camogie.  While Brian paid tribute to the club’s underage success this year Karl and Brendan gave an insight into what it is like to compete in Gaelic games at the highest level.  Club chairman Pat Kidd after making everyone welcome conducted the presentation of awards which went to the following:

Ladies senior player of the year  –  Noleen McGuckin

Reserve Men player of the year  –  Ryan McGuckin

Senior Men player of the year  –  Dermot Breen

Club team of the year  –  Callan Gaels Minors

Winners of the Anthony McSwiggan Inter-Parish Memioral Tournament  –  Tirgan ( Captained by Cormac McGuckin while Player of the Tournament went to Enda McGuckin)

A special award is always given to a person or persons who made an outstanding contribution to the welfare of the club throughout the year.  On this occasion the Patrick Higgins Memorial Cup went to a very hard working group who were responsible for the maintenance of the interior of the Gaelic Centre which they did with continued commitment and diligence.

The presentation of trophies was shared between Brian,  Karl,  Brendan and Patricia McSwiggan.

We are deeply grateful to Pat Kidd and Pamela O’Kane who organised the event,  P J and Brona Connery who served drinks and to many others who prepared the hall and worked on the night.  We offer our thanks to everyone who attended and made our senior presentation a wonderful occasion.  Our gratitude goes to Apparro Restaurant of Draperstown who prepared the food to the highest standard and to Terence McIlvar (Apollo) who provided the music.